National Jersey Youth Achievement Contest

The National Youth Achievement Contest was created in 1957. It recognizes Jersey youth from across the country for their leadership, activities and participation in Jersey functions, as well as their success in breeding and managing their own Jersey cattle.

Nominations for the National Jersey Youth Achievement Contest are made by state Jersey organizations, which can nominate up to two individuals each year. The competition is open to members of the AJCA who are between the ages 16 and 20 on January 1, 2018, or placed among the top 10 in the previous year's contest.

Contest applications are due March 15 each year. Each application is evaluated and ranked by a committee of judges to determine the year's top 10 individuals. The AJCA provides cash awards to the top individuals at the Junior Banquet during the All American festivities in Lousiville, Ky.

Applications be can accessed by visiting the USJersey website and selecting 'Learn More' under the Youth Achievement Contest category.

2018 Youth Achievement Contest Winner
Catherine Savage, Dickerson, Md.

Catherine is the daughter of Kevin and Laurie Savage who own and operate Zimmandale Jerseys. The dairy science major at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Va., is entering her junior year. Catherine says she plans to make her career in the dairy industry while continuing to breed, manage and show her own Jersey herd.

When she is on her family’s farm, Catherine manages pre-weaned calves, helps make mating decisions and registrations, assists in the daily feedings and preps her own show string. Last year she assisted with an embryo transfer on one of her animals. Her personal herd currently consists of seven Registered Jerseys and 12 Holsteins.

Additionally, she manages her own Boer goat operation on the side, established when she was just nine years old. On campus, she is involved with the Virginia Tech Dairy Club, the dairy judging team, dairy bowl team and is a dairy science ambassador.

For 12 years she has been an avid participant in Jersey youth programs on the state and national levels. Experienced in the Holstein breed as well, Catherine found the Jerseys suited her best and have subsequently taken her far. Notably, Catherine has served the state as both Maryland Jersey Queen and Princess.

In 2018, Catherine received the AJCA’s Cedarcrest Farm Scholarship. The year prior, she was a member of Class V of Jersey Youth Academy.

For all her personal accomplishments within the Jersey community, Catherine recognizes the breed’s significance in the face of a changing dairy economy. She believes breeders are responsible for making the decisions that will continue to make the Jersey the breed of choice with her nutrient-dense milk.

“With the current state of the dairy industry and all the struggles we face as dairy farmers, the biggest goal for any dairy farmer is be economically viable in today’s poor markets,” she said in her application. “The Jersey breed must evolve in order to accompany our consumers’ demands all while improving our beloved Jersey cow.”

Historical List of National Jersey Youth Achievement Winners
2018 Catherine Savage, Dickerson, Md. 2017 Kaila Wussow, Cecil, Wis.
2016 Gerret Boer, Dalhart, Texas 2015 Emily Chittenden, Schodack Landing, N.Y.
2014 Olivia Price Pearson, Lincolnton, N.C. 2013 Dylan Ellenburg, Morristown, Tenn.
2012 Cassandra N. Krull, Lake Mills, Wis. 2011 Cassandra Chittenden, Schodack Landing, N.Y.
2010 Amber Ettinger, Kinards, S.C. 2009 Lauren Brittany Core, Salvisa, Ky.
2008 Tyler Lee Boyd, Parrottsville, Tenn. 2007 Aaron M. Horst, Chambersburg, Pa.
2006 Renée Elizabeth Norman, Liberty, Pa. 2005 Brett A. Barlass, Janesville, Wis.
2004 Amanda Jo Johnson, Molalla, Ore. 2003 Davis Peeler, Starr, S.C.
2002 Rebecca Ferry, Johnstown, N.Y. 2001 Veronica Steer, Cottage Grove, Tenn.
2000 Julia Marie Snodgrass, Morristown, Tenn. 1999 Kristin Barlass, Janesville, Wis.
1998 Bryan Marcoot, Greenville, Ill. 1997 Iris D. Peeler, Starr, S.C.
1996 Denise Josi, Tillamook, Ore. 1995 Brian Barlass, Janesville, Wis.
1994 Karin Chittenden, Schodack Landing, N.Y. 1993 Julie Kirchdoerfer, Cape Girardeau, Mo.
1992 Timothy A. Billman, West Salem, Ohio 1991 Kenneth G. Ropp, Normal, Ill.
1990 Kimberly A. Billman, West Salem, Ohio 1989 Stuart R. Schooley, Niangua, Mo.
1988 Alan O. Chittenden, Schodack Landing, N.Y. 1987 Herbert D. Lutz, Jr., Chester, S.C.
1986 Todd Rinkenberger, Atwater, Calif. 1985 Denise Smith, Arab, Ala.
1984 Timothy M. Abbott, Cabot, Vt. 1983 Glenn Calfee, Cleveland, Tenn.
1982 Paula Cloud, Chandler, Okla. 1981 Karen Casale, Denair, Calif.
1980 Jerry Hatfield, Newton, Iowa 1979 Debra L. Stiles, Clearbrook, Va.
1978 V. David Calfee, Cleveland, Tenn. 1977 Alta Mae Keightley, Harrodsburg, Ky.
1976 Charles Y. King, Newark, Ohio 1975 Calhoun B. Parr, Newberry, S.C.
1974 Mark G. Smith, Picayune, Miss. 1973 Tracy E. Stiles, Clearbrook, Va.
1972 Larry A. Schirm, Canal Winchester, Ohio 1971 Boyd H. Parr, Newberry, S.C.
Kris Kinzie, Cushing, Okla.
1970 Kent Kinzie, Cushing, Okla. 1969 Kenneth Kelly, Tupelo, Miss.
1968 Loretta J. Armentrout, Jonesboro, Tenn. 1967 Robert Lyon, Traer, Iowa
1966 Allen Kinzie, Cushing, Okla. 1965 David G. Bixler, Tulare, Calif.
1964 Stephen P. Bachelor, Angola, Ind. 1963 James Edgerly, Dinuba, Calif.
1962 William H. Diley, Jr., Canal Winchester, Ohio 1961 Roger Mabry, Springdale, Ark.
Carol J. Rowzee, Newton, Miss.
1960 Ray E. Ropp, Normal, Ill. 1959 Clifford H. Stiles, Mt. Airy, Md.
1958 David W. Spahr, Findlay, Ohio 1957 J. Howard Stiles, Mt. Airy, Md.